parsing issue?

You think you found a bug, but you're not sure... or maybe you know you found a bug!

parsing issue?

Postby BartmanEH » Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:32 pm

I've imported a Python file from here: https://gist.github.com/pchng/88e3f4e724b7c6b8763c into a PHP project. It seems to work as expected when I execute the Python script from PHP, however, NBPython is highlighting two lines red with errors. I'm a noob and can't figure out what NBPython is unhappy about with the following two lines:
Code: Select all
    attributes = {k:v.encode('utf-8') for (k, v) in attributes.iteritems() if k in fields}
and
Code: Select all
  date = date + datetime.timedelta(1)
The first reports 8 errors the first being "no viable alternative at input 'for'" and then various others related to 'mismatched input 'for' expecting RCURLY" etc.

I randomly discovered that f I put ' EOF' at the end of the file, the errors are no longer reported. I don't think this is a good solution for many reasons not the least of which is I would like to import changes to the Python code in the future without having to modify it just to make NBPython happy.

Any idea why NBPython is unhappy with this code?
BartmanEH

Re: parsing issue?

Postby Jenselme » Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:50 am

My guess is that you are using the current release version of nbpython from: http://plugins.netbeans.org/plugin/56795?show=true. The problem is that to report bugs, the plugins rely on jython. The version of jython that comes from this release of nbpython is quite old and doesn't support some syntax (including dict comprehension). This is solved in the dev version of the plugin. See: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57

I hope we will be able to release a new version with this fix soon.
Jenselme

Postby BartmanEH » Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:47 pm

Is it possible to install dev versions of the plugin or is that inadvisable?
BartmanEH

Postby Jenselme » Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:52 pm